IN OTHER WORDS | Cats, Cats and More Cats

Monday, I took my two cat-loving children to Austin Pets Alive, our city’s famous no-kill shelter. No, we are not adopting another cat. We already have three. We went to hang out. That is what might save this week. I may do a series of cat posts.

And, when did the entire week of Thanksgiving become a school holiday? Do they not realize Christmas break, at a whopping sixteen consecutive days, is less than a month away? Who’s running this show?

Back in my day (yes I said it) we had off Thursday and Friday. The rest of the week, we went to school. Wednesday afternoon was a nightmare, everyone was stressed out, but we went to freaking school.

Monday seemed to be going fine until 11 a.m. We made it three hours. Three hours. Want to pry an XBOX controller out of my battling offsprings’ white-knuckled fingers? Just say these magic words:

“Who wants to go see the kittens at Austin Pets Alive?”

They were in the car and fighting over shotgun before I could even finish my sentence. Where should I go Tuesday? Anyone?


You’ll see a new post from me, every day in November as part of National Blog Posting Month, NaBloPoMo. We’re almost done, but you can still join in. See BlogHer for all the information you need to get started.

Comments

  1. I’m doing NaBloPoMo, too. It’s been kind of cool!

    We love going to see the cats at PetSmart. They have an adoption hour or two on Saturdays. We want them all, but we have two dogs and two cats, and we’re down a few cats so I’m just not ready for new babies. But it’s fun to see them!

    Like

  2. eveofreduction says:

    We just had 4 snow days in Buffalo, now Thanksgiving and soon Christmas break. Get out the board games and pretend the power is out!

    Like

  3. I think that sentence might get me to step away from my laptop, too! I love cats, too, and there are two much-loved rescue cats in our household, too. We don’t have Thanksgiving over here in the UK, although I think it’s something we should really embrace (we have, apparently, embraced the ‘Black Friday’ shopping thing, though!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

