IN OTHER WORDS | I’ll Just Miss Him

My husband got a new job. It’s great for him. It’s a job he’s wanted for years, and they’ve wanted him. It’s tailor made for him. A Seattle based software company is expanding support operations in Austin. It was about timing. He’s been in touch with them since we moved here from Seattle. Three years. So, he gets a nice perk. His new work home base is our old home base. He’ll get to see friends, his dad, and feel less disconnected from our former life. He’s excited both personally and professionally. It’s his time. He hasn’t felt passionate about his career in too long. I don’t think they interviewed anyone else. It’s been him all along, just waiting for the right time.

Since we moved to Austin, he’s been in place holder jobs, making the best of it. They looked ok, but never really were the best of fits. But he worked hard. He always does. And, I admire and appreciate his commitment to supporting our family, and to moving here, for us.

I’ve known that he’d have to spend time training in Seattle, be away from me and the boys. Then, he told me that his training boot camp, the first two weeks in December, is over weekends too. I already know he’ll be gone all of January and part of February. But, when he said weekends too, I just started to cry. Not because I’ll be on my own with the kids, although I’ll cry about that at some point. Look for a post in January, when it’s dark at 6 p.m., not something we are used to in Texas, and the boys miss Dad, and I miss my husband, and it’s cold and the house feels too big and too small all at the same time.

No, I didn’t think any of those things, my tears just came and my child voice came out and said, “No, that’s not OK.” Because, I’ll just miss him, we all will just miss him.
NaBloPoMo_1114_298x255_badges

Comments

  1. Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    When my other half has to go somewhere and I’m home alone, I try to plot a plan in advance that is going to make things super awesome for me and lessen the missing him aspect of things. It might be as simple as a dinner I love which he would not eat – Chicken Cacciatore with anchovies and olives is the usual go to, or a dessert, or a plan to go somewhere with friends, or maybe seeing a movie.

    Anyway, maybe making a plan for those weekends and having it as special time for you and the kids can lessen the missing, though of course it will still be there. If it gets dark early, that speaks to me of movie night with popcorn and home made pizza. 🙂

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I also add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, and you’ll likely see me drop by again during November.

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Like

    • Thank you so much for the kind response and ideas. I love the movie and popcorn on the weekends. I know we’ll do that, all cuddled up under a blanket the three of us. I’m happy to know I’m not alone and that you’ll be following my blog. Happy NaBloPoMo, I am finding it to be a great experience. Building community, enhancing my writing, making friends,it’s great!

      Like

  2. Making new friends is the best part of blogging. Nice to meet you.

    Like

  3. My hubby is in China for a couple weeks on work. Hugs to you. The house just seems empty when those guys we love are not around.

    Like

  4. After Feb he’s back in Texas right? THis is a temporary travel thing? Its hard to weather the separations but knowing its a temp. and he seems to be so happy about it helps. Will look for ya in Feb… hang tough.

    Like

  5. I guess it’s a thankful thing and also a very difficult, heart-wrenching thing all wrapped up in one, which doesn’t make it easy at all.

    Like

  6. Kristi Campbell - findingninee says:

    Aw, the horror of the thankful when good job things are coming our ways but take away the ones we love from us for a while… I’m glad to have met you!!!

    Like

  7. You’ll get through that training – it will be over before you know it. It’s always harder looking ahead at things to come, than actually being in the middle of it.

    Like

  8. There is grief even in joy, isn’t there? They hardly ever exist without the other. Write more about Austin. I miss it so!

    Like

  9. Silver linings in everything. Look for the good. Remember the good! It will help!

    Like

  10. Such a double edged sword, this situation. I know my husband travels a lot, especially this time of year and the kids and I miss him. It will be okay. And on those days when you write about being on your own with the kids and feel like you’re on the edge of sanity, reach out. I know exactly how that feels. So glad to have you here this week and I hope you’ll return

    Like

    • Thanks, Sandy, I will. I love this community. I’m in. I got more comments on this post than on any other I’ve ever written (at least in my own site). An outpouring of well wishes and support. It’s nice to know y’all have my back. I hope I can give as good as I get.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Congrats to your husband, but it is hard to be apart. Perhaps in those lonely January/February days, you and your children can plan a great homecoming party for when your husband returns. Hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

