IN OTHER WORDS | I Love Halloween

As a kid, I loved Halloween because, candy. Not gonna lie. I love candy. I love chocolate, Twizzlers, Dots (OMG Dots), Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Not a huge fan of Snickers or Milky Way anymore but as a kid, aw yea. Any and all candy. My husband has the same affliction. We have passed along a love of sugar to our children.

DSC01283DSC01284

I also loved Halloween because I loved to dress up. I had some cool costumes. In fifth grade, I went as a flapper. I got a non-chemical perm and was unrecognizable to my best friend. Huge win. It took weeks to get the knots out of my hair from the “perm.” Huge loss. I re-used this costume several times, including in high school. I was recognizable then, and I kept all my hair.

Jenny and Joel Halloween-3

Now, I have kids. They salivate over Halloween, both literally and figuratively. They have sweet teeth to make their parents proud, and despite all the “ooh candy is bad for you” naysayers, we let them have candy. Halloween night, they go crazy, and that’s just how it is. It’s one night. From then, we go through the stash, throw away anything questionable and take a few for ourselves. One kid hates M&Ms and another Reese’s. I know, shocking. We did DNA tests, they’re ours. We control the bags, they get usually one or two pieces a day, and we ahem, help them out.

Also, shh, sometimes, I just take some of the really bad stuff, like Laffy Taffy, and toss it. My youngest just got braces, my oldest needs them again. I’m not an idiot.

We have a great time with costumes. One of my favorite years was in 2010 when I went as Lisbeth Salander from “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” and my youngest was a “Rocker Dude.”
DSC01273

This year, my youngest went for all black, which makes me proud. If you’ll look in my closet, you’ll see, he takes after his mother. It goes with everything. Especially Dots.dots2NaBloPoMo_1114_298x255_badges

Leave a Reply

