IN OTHER WORDS

A Change is Gonna Come

It’s been a long, a long time coming

But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will . . . 

Sam Cooke sings of a different kind of struggle with change than that which I’ve faced in the last two years. I wasn’t born in a tent, I don’t have to fear hanging around downtown because of my skin color. But, I do know the feeling of change, long, often drawn out and painful change that eventually leads to greater happiness, greater freedom, and that while it is, while the change slowly morphs, impacts, becomes habit, proves itself, there is pain and fear as well as joy and excitement.

Our family has lived in Austin, Texas almost two years now. The first nine months in temporary housing were so painful and disconnected from anything we’d anticipated, I almost don’t count them. But chronologically, they existed and they were hard on us all. We felt that time alone and we felt that time together and it was hard.

In August of this year, we celebrate a year in our real Austin home, our belonging. And yet, this year has been one of some turmoil as well. Moving a world, a life, a marriage, children, changing habits and breaking patterns, this does not come easily to us humans. Especially bright and stubborn humans. There are four of those in our household. And I count myself among them. But the happiness, the new, often frightening, life we have made for ourselves, we are building around us with new friendships, new work, new personal dynamics, a new paradigm of love, sunshine, warmth, calm, space, it is beyond spectacular. We have worked hard, all four of us, to get through the bumpy ride this change has had us on. And it has been a roller coaster for each in our own way and for all four as a family.

We are stronger now, we are more loving, we are happier, we have found our place in the sun and the wide open space that is our new home. A change did come, and like most change that is meaningful and lasting and life-altering, it was a long time coming, Some years longer than just our move to Austin, but readying us for our next phase in this amazing life. And in the song, there were times so hard that

I thought I couldn’t last for long

But now I think I’m able to carry on

It’s been a long, a long time coming

But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will.

SAM COOKE – A CHANGE IS GONNA COME 

Comments

  1. heartwriter says:

    Beautiful reflection. I love when you put your wise thoughts to song, the tie in with music that you do, is lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

