The New Normal

It’s been a rough year. What’s that you say? It’s January, we’re all starting fresh, you make a resolution, wake up on the 1st and life is different? Nope. It just doesn’t work that way. January 1st is just a day; the New Year can be ripe with opportunity for change and if your brain and psyche respond to the whole “resolution” thing, well, mazel tov and more power to you. Mine don’t.

What I am trying to wrap my head around is a “new normal.” My 2010 was full of health challenges, so much so that I’ve lost my exercise routine (a huge key to my sanity). I feel lost in other ways too. What’s next for me creatively? What are my priorities? Besides my family, kids, husband, I committed today to myself as my priority. My “new normal” is, thanks to the go-ahead of my knee surgeon; the strategic placement of some very strong steroids in my spine; recovery from the flu, a cold and a lot of anticipatory patience on my part, the taking back of my physical health and therefore getting my balance back. I don’t know what it will look like. I can’t predict life. I will have more flare-ups. As a good friend said to me “It’s nothing personal. Life just happens, you have been hit with one thing after another. Your knee, your back, the stomach flu, a miserable cold, but it’s not personal; it’s life.”

My new normal is just going to be my normal, I guess. No resolution can predict or dictate how it will be, what will cross my path. I just have to roll with it.

Leave a Reply

